catholic2christian.org

April 1, 2008

From the site listed above.

I was raised a catholic. I thought I was a Christian…

My Story
I was born to faithful catholic parents and was raised in the catholic church. At a very young age, I wanted to do more than sit in a pew at mass, so I volunteered to be an altar boy and was trained to serve on the altar. In time, I was elevated to the leadership position, overseeing all of the altar servers in my parish. I coordinated the schedule and the activities of the altar servers, and took part in other committees, groups, and functions of the church, including adult education.

I also became a sunday school teacher, preparing young catholic children for their first communion. Once I reached my twenties I became a lector, and each weekend I stood on the altar and read to those in attendance at mass. In time, I was recruited by the head of the church’s RCIA program to become an instructor, teaching converts who desired to become a part of the catholic church.

After 44 years a catholic, I knew in my heart that I was a Christian. I went to church, I followed the catholic doctrine, I knew for sure that I was saved.

How could I have been so wrong?

One day I was watching television, and while changing channels I happened upon a local program that featured a preacher who said he had a special message for all the catholics who were watching. He said that many teachings of the catholic church are contrary to the Bible itself. He declared that catholics who followed the doctrines of the church were being misled and most likely had not received the gift of eternal salvation.

I found that a tough pill to swallow, so the next day I decided to speak to my priest about what I’d heard.

“Father, why did this TV preacher say that the teachings of the catholic church are different from what is in the Bible?” I asked.

READ MORE at http://www.catholic2christian.org

Leave a Reply

